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LARRY COLLETON KENT R. SPUHLER
PRESIDENT : DIRECTOR
July 22, 2009

Re: Protecting Tenants at Foreclosure Act of 2009
Pub. L. No. 111-22, §§ 701-704 (2009)

Dear:

The Housing Umbrella Group of Florida Legal Services, Inc. wishes to call your attention to
recent changes in federal law that apply to tenants in state foreclosure proceedings. The Housing
Umbrella Group is comprised of approximately 150 legal aid and legal services attorneys from
across Florida who specialize in landlord-tenant issues and represent low-income tenants.

During the foreclosure crisis, numerous renters in good standing have been forced to relocate
after a foreclosure sale with little or no notice. To address this critical problem and to stabilize
neighborhoods, Congress passed the Protecting Tenants at Foreclosure Act (Title VII of S. 896,
Pub. L. No. 111-22, §§701 - 704 (2009). This law immediately went into effect when President
Obama signed it on May 20, 2009, and it applies to all pending and future residential
foreclosures.

Tenants with an unexpired lease term: The law requires a new owner acquiring property at a
foreclosure sale, including plaintiffs acquiring the property, to honor all terms and conditions of
existing leases. This means the tenant can remain in the property for the time remaining in the
lease term. However, if the new owner wants to live in the property, then the new owner may
terminate the tenancy by giving the tenant at least 90 days written notice to vacate.
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Tenants without a lease: In the case of tenants without a current lease, usually month-to-month
tenants, the new owner must provide the tenant with a minimum 90 day written notice before
terminating tenancy. This also applies when there is an unexpired written lease which has less
than 90 days remaining.

Section 8 voucher participants: When the tenant is a participant in the Section 8 voucher
program, the new owner takes the property subject to the Section 8 lease and the Section 8
Housing Assistance Payments (FIAP) contract. Once again, the only exception to this provision
is when the new owner wants to live in the property and has provided the tenant with a minimum
90 day written notice terminating tenancy.

The 90 day notice must be sent by the new owner. A “new owner” does not exist until after the
clerk issues the certificate of title. Any notice sent prior to the certificate of title does not
comply with the new statute and has no legal effect.

Most significantly, residential tenancies now survive the foreclosure process. The
implication of this change is that a tenant’s right to continued possession of the property is now
outside the scope of the foreclosure action, and therefore the foreclosure court should no longer
issue writ of possession when a bona fide tenant is in possession of the property. If the new
owner after foreclosure desires to terminate the surviving tenancy, he/she must give the tenant 90
days written notice to vacate. If the tenant fails to comply with the notice, the new owner would
then be required to file an eviction action in County Court pursuant to Chapter 83, Florida
Statutes, since Circuit Courts do not have jurisdiction over landlord-tenant disputes unless the.
amount in controversy exceeds $15,000. Please note that these changes apply when there is a
“bona fide tenant” in the property, as defined in the new statute. The new law does not prohibit a
foreclosure court from issting a writ of possession against a former owner that is still in '
possession.

These new protections make it imperative for every official involved with the foreclosure process
to modify their procedures to ensure compliance with this new federal law. The courts and
sheriffs must have a system which determines whether a tenant resides in the foreclosed property
or whether the property is owner-occupied. The best way to accomplish this is to require a
hearing, with notice addressed to “occupant” and sent to the property address, before the court
issues a writ of possession. This crucial procedural safeguard is now required by the 11" Judicial
Circuit (See Administrative Order 09-09) and should be a statewide procedure.

Please note that this law specifically does not preempt other federal, state, and local tenant
protections and expires on December 31, 2012.
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A copy of the Act is enclosed. Thank you for your attention to this matter. If you have any
questions, please feel free to contact one of the undersigned attorneys.

Sincerely,

Jeffrey M Hearne, Esq.
Legal Services of Greater Miami, Inc.
Housing Umbrella Group Co-Chair

jhearmne@lsgmi.org

Deborah Rivera, Esq. ,
Three Rivers Legal Services, Inc.
Housing Umbrella Group Co-Chair
deborah.rivera@trls.org

Alice Vickers, Esq.
Jennifer Newton, Esq.
Florida Legal Services, Inc.
alice@floridalegal.org
850-385-7900, ext. 1826

Enclosure as stated
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Public Law 111-22, Effective Date May 20, 2009

TITLE VII--PROTECTING TENANTS AT FORECLOSURE ACT

SEC. 701. SHORT TITLE.
This title may be cited as the “Protecting Tenants at Foreclosure Act of 2009'.

SEC. 702. EFFECT OF FORECLOSURE ON PREEXISTING TENANCY.
(a) In General- In the case of any foreclosure on a federally-related mortgage loan or on any dwelling or residential
real property after the date of enactment of this title, any immediate successor in interest in such property pursuant
to the foreclosure shall assume such interest subject to~
(1) the provision, by such successor in interest of a notice to vacate to any bona fide tenant at least 90 days
before the effective date of such notice; and
(2) the rights of any bona fide tenant, as of the date of such notice of foreclosure—-
(A) under any bona fide lease entered into before the notice of foreclosure to occupy the premises until
the end of the remaining term of the lease, except that a successor in interest may terminate a lease
effective on the date of sale of the unit to a purchaser who will occupy the unit as a primary residence,
subject to the receipt by the tenant of the 90 day notice under paragraph (1); or
(B) without a lease or with a lease terminable at will under State Iaw, subject to the receipt by the
tenant of the 90 day notice under subsection (1), except that nothing under this section shall affect the
requirements for termination of any Federal- or State-subsidized tenancy or of any State or local law
that provides longer time periods or other additional protections for tenants.
(b) Bona Fide Lease or Tenancy- For purposes of this section, a lease or tenancy shall be considered bona fide only
if-- _
(1) the mortgagor or the child, spouse, or parent of the mortgagor under the contract is not the tenant;
(2) the lease or tenancy was the result of an arms-length transaction; and
(3) the lease or tenancy requires the receipt of rent that is not substantially less than fair market rent for the
property or the unit's rent is reduced or subsidized due to a Federal, State, or local subsidy.
(c) Definition- For purposes of this section, the term ‘federally-related mortgage loan' has the same meaning as in
section 3 of the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act of 1974 (12 U.S.C. 2602).

SEC. 703. EFFECT OF FORECLOSURE ON SECTION 8 TENANCIES.
Section 8(0)(7) of the United States Housing Act of 1937 (42 U.S.C. 1437£(0)(7)) is amended--

(1) by inserting before the semicolon in subparagraph (C) the following: "and in the case of an owner who is
an immediate successor in interest pursuant to foreclosure during the term of the lease vacating the property
prior to sale shall not constitute other good cause, except that the owner may terminate the tenancy effective
on the date of transfer of the unit to the owner if the owner— '

‘(i) will occupy the unit as a primary residence; and

*(ii) has provided the tenant a notice to vacate at least 90 days before the effective date of such

notice.'; and
(2) by inserting at the end of subparagraph (F) the following: “In the case of any foreclosure on any federally-
related mortgage loan (as that term is defined in section 3 of the Real Estate Settlement
Procedures Act of 1974 (12 U.S.C. 2602)) or on any residential real property in which a recipient of
assistance under this subsection resides, the immediate successor in interest in such property pursuant to the
foreclosure shall assume such interest subject to the lease between the prior owner and the tenant and to the
housing assistance payments contract between the prior owner and the public housing agency for the
occupied unit, except that this provision and the provisions related to foreclosure in subparagraph (C) shall
not shall not affect any State or local law that provides longer time periods or other additional protections for
tenants.'. '

SEC. 704. SUNSET.

This title, and any amendments made by this title are repealed, and the requirements under this title shall terminate,
on December 31, 2012.
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